Reflecting on the Piper’s Reach Interviews

When Adam and I considered another round of interviews for Piper’s Reach, as a chance  to build some space between Season One and Season Two, we knew one thing: we weren’t doing nine interviews (I think the addendum was “ever again”).

Starts With Write Club

We had recently convened an online writing group with Laura Meyer and Judge Whisky and decided we’d keep the interviews “internal” so to speak, as we started to brainstorm and flesh out what a writing collective might mean for us as a group of emerging writers. Self promotion within the group seemed like a good start–especially since (for me) Piper’s Reach had brought Judge into my sphere of interest.

Today’s Interview

Laura got the first of the hiatus interviews. Judge has the second today.

While Laura followed up on her previous interview, Judge got a first crack at digging the dirt. Like Laura he directed some questions specifically at Adam or I (because honestly, I have no idea on the question of jelly fish and breast implants). Instead I got to explore the erroneous first impression of Ella-Louise being gay when she first met Jude and Judge tried to get me to ‘fess up just what Jude was feeling guilty. Given there is no consensus among the readers on just what happened I probably just add more food for thought with my answers.

In Defence of Ella-Louise

I also defend Ella-Louise’s honour against assumptions Jude wouldn’t, but she would. Yes, she comes straight out with her heart very much on her sleeve in the early letters but when Jude calls it quits on the self examination of the past, she does whereas he keeps dropping his memories of her into his letters.

It’s easy to skip over Jude’s baiting because it is far less obvious as Ella-Louise’s, but it still very much there in the letters. Perhaps it is because Ella-Louise is audacious enough to think of Jude and her in the future, whereas Jude’s musing is firmly planted in the past?

Re-reading Season One’s letters I really see what Laura meant when she wrote:

It’s a classic theme of regret and love lost, however I found myself reading Jude’s eloquently worded confessions of his past feelings, and wanting to punch him for pouring salt in Ella Louise’s open wounds.

Reflecting On Interview as Introspection

There are two things I love about the process of being interviewed:

1. There’s a chance to see what people think of what you are doing. It’s like a review by default.

2.  You are forced to step back out of the narrative and consider it dispassionately.

For something like Piper’s Reach, where we are so deeply embedded in the narrative, I honestly think it’s a good thing to garner the views of other people and your own taken from a distance.

Everytime I answer a question about Ella-Louise I get to know her a little better. She may have arrived fully formed back in January, but nine months on I’m still getting to know her, trying to understand just what makes her tick.

The impact of Laura and Judge’s interviews will be felt in what Ella-Louise chooses to do next.

Up Next

It’s seven days until Jude’s next letter and everyone will know just what is eating Jude Smith. Both Adam and I are sitting on the edges of our seat waiting to see what the reaction will be. We’ve both got our own assumptions of what those reaction will be.

And while we’re talking about what’s pending in the near future…

Our new promotional post cards should be ready soon and I’ve already got ideas brewing on just how we can use them, but I’d love to hear your thoughts.

One thought on “Reflecting on the Piper’s Reach Interviews

  1. Pingback: Whatever Happened to Ella Carter? ~ by Kyndon Fall | The Write Stuff

Leave a Reply

