Day Eleven #postitnotepoetry

2013-02-10 14.43.14Today’s poem is a ‘found object’. When cleaning my desk over the weekend I came across a train ticket. I thought it belonged to a trip several years ago, but turned out to be from my travels in November last year. While not based on any real life events… it got me thinking about how memories are evoked by unexpected moments of ‘found objects’ in our lives. And how smell (the most evocative connection to our memories) is closely followed by touch.

The poem is also a product of conversations yesterday about meter. For the first time I paid attention to how the poem sounded, the nuance in the beat and trimmed it to fit. Thanks Sean Wright for the crash course in poetic meter. This piece is much better for your edumacation!

2 thoughts on “Day Eleven #postitnotepoetry

  1. I feel Kelly should get some credit, I get the feeling she’s got a better handle on stress than I do. I find working out the metre a bit like working out the rhythm in ballroom. Takes a while before you can hear it.

Leave a Reply

