1000 words a day challenge

1000words_500wThrough the Write Anything Twitter feed (@wawriters) I saw reference to Inky Girls 1000 words a day challenge.

Debbie Ridpath Ohi, the creator of the Inky Girl writes:

Too often, I find that writers start motivational challenges like NaNoWrimo with enthusiasm and good intentions, but give up when they start missing their daily targets for more than a few days in a row…undermining their confidence and defeating the purpose of the original challenge.

I also wanted a challenge that lasted the whole year rather than just a month.

I have been trying to build up to writing three pages a day – which some days is great and I get there with extra to spare – other days it just sux.  1000 words seems to be such a better target to aim for. I’m not exactly sure how you track a word count when your editing (and you are carving out words rather than inserting them) … I’m still to come up with a forumlae other than aiming for a page target.

If I can hit the 1000 word count for 21 days in a row I’ll gift myself the badge.  21 days in the magic number some behavourists came up with as the number of days needed to effect lasting change (well until you fall off the bike and have to get on again and recount another 21 days!)  In the next 21 days I will have celebrated my son’s 5th birthday and having made it through the first five years of motherhood, survived a 5th birthday party, been on holidays for a week and planned for the school holiday break.  There is plenty of writing to be done in the next week as I stock pile my Type A Mom articles and Write Anything for my week of solitude in the Bunya Mountains. If I can achieve 1000 words a day for the next 21 I think I will make it a lasting change.

On a completely different subject, I signed up for a 31 day course on “building your blog” and after having numerous problems getting my email address registered so I could get the daily emails and enlisting the help of the family email address, I have received a registration email, and introductory email and the Day One email on the Elevator Pitch … and then it got very quiet … and it is still very quiet.  I think I should take note of the obstacles here and perhaps consider this challenge for a different time.

(Today’s word count [not including Twitter, Facebook, this blog or emails] 1178 courtesy of my Write Anything column for this week The New Spin on Reality TV.)

2 thoughts on “1000 words a day challenge

  1. I saw this. She’s also doing a 500 words-a-day challenge too, which might be more suited to me even though on rare occasions like Sunday I can crank out well over 1000 words.

    Good luck with it.

  2. 500 words a day seems such a better idea today … considering it is just after 5pm and I have done no writing what so ever … still have 24 cup cakes to bake for Dylan’s kindy birthday tomorrow (not to mention all the presents etc which need to be wrapped for tomorrow)

    I’m hoping when things calm down a little later on tonight I might get a chance to hammer out something. I have a column owing and want to write enough to cut it in half and post two articles (cheeky me)

    And I have a blog post waiting to be written about my return to the BookFest today. I came home with lots more books than Saturday and to top it off , half price day – woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

