Holiday Redux

Gosh – it feels quite like I came back from the wilderness of the Bunya Mountains and promptly entered the wilderness of a writing drought.  Time and circumstances seem to be against me.  And unbelieveably I am on holidays again – this time in my home town of Cairns, staying with my Sister and Mum. With three kids under the same roof, old friends to catch up with, gorgeous tropical winter sun outside and a real desire to kick back .. I haven’t been making (or had!) the time to write.  Even my morning pages have gone beside the wayside which feels OK at the moment.

I wouldn’t like to call my morning pages crutches to get through life, but at the moment I don’t feel empty without doing them religiously every morning.

There’s been lots of behind the scenes work going on with Chinese Whisperings and we attempt to get the template right so we can then load up the information and make the permanent site live.  Without internet for a few days at the start of the week I lost momentum and I’m not too enthused at this point to trade CW work for a walk on the beach or gelato in the glorious sun.

The Dirk Hartog story is still clicking over.  Hartog has learnt some patience (huh – this is what you get when you choose “me” to tell your story to.  Bet you’re currently peeved about it Hartog! Maybe you didn’t do your research so well. Or maybe you have mor faith in me in telling your story than I do at present?) There is also Celia’s story I was intending to write for Fiction Friday yesterday – considering she’s been on an extreme change – time travel back into war torn Europe would do that for you. Plus I overheard a conversation I found interesting in regards to her story. And I also made a startingly discovery which came from said overheard discussion.  To suceed on her mission they had to destroy the time machine – thus she was sent back into the past knowing she would never be able to return to her time and her comrades.

I’m also on a bit of a fact finding mission for my potential NaNo story this year.  Probing and exploring my old friends  high school and teenage experiences/recollection.  I’m hoping if I have some insight into the drives, motivations, fear and triumphs of my old friends during those seminal years I will be able to attract the right characters for the story.

I’ll be back later to do my month in review (yes I am putting it off because it has been pretty dismal in many respects).  And I have a few more ideas I would like to write about.

3 thoughts on “Holiday Redux

  1. Curious about Chinese Whisperings?? Being a bit cloak and dagger about the whole thing (building suspense – hahaha!) but it is an anthology of interconnected stories written by ten different writers. It is a joint project between Paul Anderson and I … and there are some other Write Anything writers on board and other writers we’ve collected along the way.

    Perhaps once the website goes live etc – you might like to join up for the next round of CW. I will be looking for a group of Sth Hemisphere writers to work with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

