July Wrap Up

goal-smFirst day of August and I’m getting in with the wrap up of my goals. If it weren’t for getting Paul’s blog posts sent straight to my inbox, it is quite likely I would go months without checking up on my progress.

July was a month where I wanted to just lounge in the beautiful Cairns sun, catch up with old friends … and then do a mad dash to catch up on projects when I got home … only to spend the following week of productivity with a week of vomitting.  Brilliant!

So here goes July:

1. Write something every day – building up to three pages a day

Some days I’m super slick on this and other days nothing gets written.  I am going into slow melt down because I haven’t done any new fiction writing in almost six weeks.  And on top of that I’ve fallen out of the habit of morning pages.  So need to relook at my schedule (or lack of one) and get back into some meaningful writing again … and a balance between fiction and non-fiction. I haven’t even submitted an article to Type A Mom in the last fortnight (hurrah for the new editorial guidelines which has having to submit two a month now!)

I can gratefully say though that I have attacked my back log of editing and have almost got Graceville to a point I’m considering whether my QWC critiquing group will consider looking at it for this month.

2. Participate in [Fiction] Friday every week

I decided to take a month off Fiction Friday to concentrate on doing some editing. It was like the half year and a bit mark fell and I felt the need to start wrapping up some loose ends.  I think Hartog has gone off in a huff because I’ve ignored him for too long. I’ve come up with the prompts in August and hoping I might have a crack at them again – and just forget they are my ideas. Have that horrible feeling they are lame and no one will participate.

3. Read two books a month (or a minimum of 600 pages)

Leaning Towards Infinity – Sue Woolfe (honestly thought that it was never going to end and the hardest read I’ve done this year.

Head Games – Nick Earls (went here looking for a straight narrative while I was sick and discovered it was a collected works anthology … which only did my head in further trying to work out how they all fitted together.  Worked it out after the first three chapters!)

I also started Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen.

4. Complete a manuscript

I took Finding Aphrodite away with me to the Bunyas in June and it remained untouched. I don’t think I’m going to get to finishing anything at this rate.

5. Enter a minimum of four competitions

I entered the Editors Unleashed/Smash Fiction Flash 40 competition – to no avail.  It was an odd comp – but glad that I entered it as it meant polishing up “My Sandals.”  Need to search out some other places. Going to start deciding what I will enter into the One Book Many Brisbanes comp at the end of the year.

6. Have a minimum of 2 fiction and 2 non fiction pieces published

Had lunch with Sophee McPhee from QCG magazine and she’s keen to accept both short stories and non fiction articles.  The deadline is next week but not sure if I’m in a space this month to interview and write up.  There’s been plenty of on line work (there always is). The Nth Rivers Writers ebullentin came through today and there were a number of new avenues for writing.  I really need to knuckle down and be serious about sending my work off.

7. Compile an electronic anthology of my best short stories from 2008.

Stalled still – though it has taught me the value of editing as you go.  I have decided there will be no loose ends at the end of 2009.  So perhaps I can consider an anthology next year.

8. Get my ‘Chinese Whispers’ novelette/anthology off the ground.

Website launched yesterday.  What a relief.  It makes it real and has provided the momentum needed to complete the project. There has been lots of positive feedback and the website looks amazing.  It’s like visiting the poor cousin coming here. The idea has really rounded up and taken form.  The editions are now called “books” and the first will be The Red Book – due for release in November – the colour red marries up with the website.  2010 will be The Jade Book and hopefully getting eMergent off the ground.

9. Begin writing my part of the Blood Sister project.

Another thing going no where. I did bring home from Cairns some old letters I sent to Riki as a teenager and hoping to repatriate all the letters I have and to get mine back.

10. Commit to a schedule of professional development

Byron Bay Writers Festival is next week and have already gone through the program for the Brisbane Writers Festival and have seen lots of things I want to attend there.

Have also been going along to my critiquing course with the QWC and learning lots.  The next step is to join the Australian Writers Marketplace Online and finding places to send my work.

11. Complete the series of articles for the Reclaim project on ‘Reclaiming Your Space’

Reclaim is on an indefinite hiatus.  I have been having lots of flashes about Reclaim and a future direction and I should remember my committment to this set of articles and submit to Type A Mom.

12. Watch one movie a week

The last movie I watched was Twilight (for the fourth time!) when I was sick the second last week of July.  I have The Reader sitting waiting to be watched.  The Changeling went back to the shop without being watched. Have been more focused on trying to get to bed and get some sleep than watching anything of late.

13. Participate in the National Novel Writing Month.

I think it is just 94 days to away.  I haven’t decided to if I want to finish my Blue Melissae manuscript from last year, if I want to go with my 2007 idea, try and resurrect Adam and Eve or go with my return to high school idea.  At least I can’t say I’m bereft of springboard material.

Additionals

As an aside, a couple of weekends ago I did up a catalogue of my online articles for this year and tallied up the hits. On my Type A Mom articles there was more than 34,000 hits which blows my mind.  Sadly my Ad Sense account for all those page views totals just under $2.00US making me think it is all a rort somehow. There is no simple easy way of doing my Write Anything articles and don’t feel the need to go and tally up those.

I’m hoping August will be a return to some fiction writing (I’m imaging nights spent at Byron Bay with my lap top tapping away), more editing of Graceville, Light Years and Jude/Lea.  And to get back on track with the editing of Chinese Whisperings.

2 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

