#53 The Crucible

The Crucible is my favourite play of all time. I have waited a year, since The Queensland Theatre Company announced it would be staging the play.  Powerful performances by all – especially from John Proctor. I had tears streaming down my face at the end as I waited for Elizabeth to deliver her final lines (even when I knew what they were). Very interesting choice of costumes – harkening back to the 50’s rather than authentic Puritan attire.

It is almost 20 years since I studied it at high school and it seems more relevant now than ever. There is a line where DAnforth says:  “You are either with this court, or against it.” It sounded like George Bush when the Coalition of the Wiling went to war. There will always be a chance to cry “Witch” … if it is not communinism, it is terrorism. Collectively Governments will always look for or to create an ‘ism’ to align themselves against. Makes me realise, we really never do learn anything from history.

Leave a Reply

