Borders 100 Favourite Books – Part Three

As promised earlier on in the week the final installment of Borders 100 Favourite Books – books 71 throught to 100. I will post the entire list later on in the week.

To refresh you on the legend:

bold – read    italics – intending to read   * – own the book

71.       American Gods – Neil Gaiman

72.       Road – Cormac Mccarthy

73.       Brave New World – Aldous Huxley one I do intend to re-read as it was a set school novel.

74.       In Turkey I Am Beautiful: Between Chaos And Madness In A Strange Land – Brendan Shanahan

75.       Breath – Tim Winton

76.       Jessica – Bryce Courtenay

77.       Animalia – Graeme Base

78.       Secret History – Donna Tartt

79.       Godfather – Mario Puzo

80.       Interview With The Vampire – Anne Rice …Started this but never finished it.

81.       Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson

82.       Stand – Stephen King

83.       Bridget Jones Diary: A Novel – Helen Fielding …Another I started and didn’t finish

84.      *  New Earth: Create A Better Life – Eckhart Tolle

85.       Seven Ancient Wonders – Matthew Reilly

86.       Wild Swans: Three Daughters Of China – Jung Chang …the first book I read when I got back into read in 2007

87.       Notebook – Nicholas Sparks

88.       American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis

89.       Belgariad Vol. 1: Pawn Of Prophecy; Queen Of Sorcery; Magician’s Gambit – David Eddings

90.       Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres and De Berni

91.       Looking For Alibrandi – Melina Marchetta … loved the movie

92.       Ps, I Love You – Ahern

93.      *  Prayer For Owen Meany – John Irving …though technically Dave ‘owns’ it.

94.       Thorn Birds – Colleen Mccullough

95.       Confederacy Of Dunces –  John Kennedy Toole

96.       Good Omens – Neil Gaiman, Pratchett , Terry Pratchett et al

97.       Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas: A Savage Journey To The Heart Of The American Dream – Hunter S. Thompson

98.       Chocolat – Joanne Harris

99.       Princess Bride – William Goldman …Paul Anderson will be happy to see this on the list.

100.     Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

5/30 Cumulative total 27/100

This is the first time on ANY of these lists that I have read more than a quarter of the books listed. Feeling pretty good and penciling in a number of those ‘to reads’ to this years book feast. Thanks to Dan adn Chris for playing along.

Image from bp631 is alive via Flickr. Another crazy person who took a photo a day for a year.

3 thoughts on “Borders 100 Favourite Books – Part Three

  1. 11/30 for this part. 31 out of 100 read for the whole list. The Road, Owen Meany and Captain Corelli are all books I have read or plan to read more than once.

    To be honest, most of the unread titles aren’t on my radar massively. Though I reckong I might have a crack at the Stieg Larsson books at some point.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Borders 100 Favourite Books – Part Three « Writing in Black and White | Drakz Free Online Service

  3. A scant 4 titles on this portion. Which brings me to 23/100. In my defense I have a rather large ‘to read’ pile. Lovely Bones is second on the list. There is a movie coming out so I want to get it read before it is abridged by Hollywood.

    I’m with Dan in that most of the unread titles are not on my radar. Some of them (i.e. Bridget Jones Diary) I’ve seen as movies and they did not spark my interest in the book. Conversely, “Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas”, was a great movie which made me want to read the book. Embarrassingly it’s still on the ‘to read’ list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

