Going Lunar

For the past three years I’ve wanted to work more with the lunar ebb and flow of energy. While it seems out of step with the rest of the world which runs on arbitary dates on the calendar – this year I really want to try and see what happens if I respect the natural energetic flow.

For those unused to lunar workings – the moon waxes (grows bigger) for just under two weeks, the moon is full for three days and then the moon wanes for just under two weeks. The waxing moon is best for initiating projects, setting goals and using the go-hard energy to achieve lots. The waning to finish projects and tie up loose ends. The full moon is a great time for celebrations. The dark moon best for decluttering, cleaning etc. It is a ready made work time table.

Thus, with the moon new in Capricorn earlier this afternoon (and along with a pretty potent Eclipse) I’m here with my first check in (which includes all of December and the first two weeks of January) and setting goals for the next lunar cycle.

Since I checked in last….

…I’ve been as productive as possible given I’ve become another year wiser, had my mother visit, Christmas, New Years and the school holidays.

  • Bondi was submitted two days early for the 12 Day of Christmas project and received more than two dozen positive comments.
  • Chinese Whisperings (The Red Book) wasn’t finished by my birthday but was finished a few days before the official launch date which went off with a bang at midnight 1st January and to date selling well for an eBook unlisted on Kindle or any other eBook sites and getting fantastic reviews.
  • The Confusion was left in a state of confusion back on my side table and is now back on the shelf. It is the first time in two years I’ve thrown my hands up in the air and said ‘No.” It’s January, technically I’m not back ‘working’ and I want to enjoy what I’m ready.
  • Graceville is on it’s final time with a beta reader (thanks Chris!) after I lost my nerve to submit it in December. After this I will be submitting to Meanjin and keeping my fingers crossed.
  • Taping Lydia has been submitted to Jon Strother’s Best of Flash Friday 2009.
  • My Sandals, renamed Perspectives of Sand, went to Miscellanous Press, and as I blogged yesterday, was rejected. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.
  • I didn’t get a week away from the computer, but I did get three days away over Christmas and Boxing Day and it was amazing how quickly vivid dreams came back and I was more relaxed, more even tempered and connected.
  • I didn’t manage to stay on top of the daily posting of the photo a day, but continued to chip away and upload at times with a week or more of photos.

Books read in the last six weeks:

  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  • The Lovely Bones
  • Her Fearful Symmetry
  • 100+ pages of The Confusion

Currently reading one third into ‘The Book Thief’

I’ve written and submitted a short story, The Chameleon, for Absolute Xpress’s Flash Fiction Challenge: Thieves and Scoundrels. It got fabulous feedback from my growing stable of beta readers so I’m hopeful it will be a successful submission. Again it went in a few days earlier which was almost as great a thrill as actually having it finished.

Now my goals in the coming month:

  1. Finalise the Chinese Whisperings line up (we’re recruiting 12 new writers to join the exisiting 8 writers from The Red Book)
  2. Finalise the first story for Chinese Whisperings (Paul and I are contemplated/attempting to write a joint story to start and then to end – crazy I know)
  3. Finish the final six entries of my Fourth Fiction novella.
  4. Run a competition to name my Fourth Fiction novella.
  5. Post up my remaining Captain Juan episodes so we can start afresh on the 14th.
  6. Revamp my writing area.
  7. Hem the curtain for the window which my desk sits at (this has been a two year project – sad but true)
  8. Post my photos up every day (I’ve sort of got into the swing of this).
  9. Finalise the projects I want to be involved with for 2010.
  10. Write up my business plan for 2010.

On top of those I’m supporting my creative efforts in a number of other areas.

  • I’ve given up sugar, cold turkey, for 30 days and hopefully longer.
  • I’ve got an exercise video and plan on doing it every day and go out for a walk – healthy body, healthy mind.
  • I’m taking up a hobby – not sure what yet? I’ve been yearning for years to take up dancing,  a friend has been showing us her quilting books and glowing about how much she loves do it and I used to cross stitch – so who knows? I feel the need to be creative in other areas.
  • I’m turning the computer off at 8:30opm (obviously not tonight because I didn’t get the time management quite spot on!)

So, anyone else crazy enough to go ‘lunar’ with me and work from one new moon to the next? And is going ‘lunar’ the organisational equivalent of  ‘going native’?

Image unearthed at Temporarily Going Out Rogue

3 thoughts on “Going Lunar

  1. Interesting post about lunar ebb and flow. I was born as a Cancer with Moon rising, and have always loved the idea of being a moonchild. And yes, it seems my emotions do ebb and flow!

    Learned here how best to work with a lunar schedule. Thank you for this. So waxing moon is when I should begin a writing project, etc. I think I’ll pay more attention and see what happens.

    Good luck with all your endeavors!

    Like

  2. Hi Marisa.
    Emotions do ebb and flow – just like the oceans (not surprising given our bodies are mostly water)

    Yes – new moon is the best time to begin a writing project and where the most energy to work on it comes from (though I do admit there is a bit of a frenzy towards the end of the month to actually finish things).

    I’m looking forward to seeing how it works out for me also. Trying to hook in as many other writers so I don’t feel quite so alone when I’m not posting my goals on some weird date in the middle of the month, when everyone else has posted theirs on the 1st.

    Like

Leave a Reply

