Day One: In Transit

Today was the first day of our trip to Victoria.

My wonderful Dad shouted us plane tickets so I could attend the Emerging Writers Festival and he could hang out with Mr Almost-Six for a week. Win-win. Knowing I was heading off my gorgeous friend Chris Chartrand (stranded in whoop whoop Maine, USA) asked if I’d give him a chance to live vicariously (because hell – we all want to travel with a small child!)… here I am. Hi Chris!

The fire in the lounge room is burning (something I miss terribly living in Brisbane and without the means to have a fire) and I’ve got a red wine close at hand. Mr Almost-Six is playing Playstation with my Dad and all is good in the world.

The only weird, noteable item from today was the fire alarm going off in the QANTAS departures lounge for more than five minutes. The alarm is loud – beyond annoying and to the point where you think your brain is going to explode. When it went on for more than 30 seconds people began to rouse from their seats, shop keepers and barristas wandered out from their post and stood looking in a worried, though vacant fashion. Mr Almost-Six looked up, with a serious look on his face and asked if there was something really wrong? I told him it was OK – but I knew alarms don’t go off like that for no reason. Especially for an extended length of time.

We walked in the opposite direction looking for somewhere to eat and to get as far away from the alarms as possible. While we were waiting to collect our food order, a voice came over the speaker to say a fire alarm had gone off and people were to prepare for the possibility of evacuation. It was like the CW fairy had siddled up to me whisperings “I heard you’re writing about an airport… and travelling today!”

Turned out it was a false alarm. But it was an interesting study in psychology. I wonder how long it will take, how many years, before we’re totally comfortable in being in public spaces in a potential emergency? Or were we already like that before 9/11? Is it only now we think the absolute possible worst?

Catastrophes beside… the look of joy on the face of my Dad and Mr Almost-Six is just magical (I wish I could bottle it up) when they came together in the arrivals lounge. There is something about seeing my Dad as a Grandfather which had given me a new appreciate of family – and the ever changing nature of it.

Until later… I’m going to snuggle up on the couch with my book and wine, as the crackle of the fire competes with the engine revs from the PlayStation (did I mention Mr Almost Six is in 7th heaven at the moment?)

5 thoughts on “Day One: In Transit

  1. I have such a love-hate relationship with airports. I love that they are portals to adventure and hate the penned in feeling. My brother would have been knocking you and Mr. Almost-six to the ground to get out of there once the alarms sounded. He’s such a piss-cat. The rest of us, I think, would have totally ignored the alarms pre-9/11. Safe flight. See you on the ground.

    • Yeah – I know what you mean. These alarms were disturbing because they went on and on and on… and where we were meant to be hanging out waiting for our flight – they seemed to be even louder their. Then to be told they were fire alarms and they were seeking to find the problem… as the alarms continued.

      I could envisage the pandemonium which would accompany a complete evacuation of the second floor departures lounge! And being caught in that type of maestrom with Mr Almost-Six really was something I wanted to avoid at all costs.

      I’m a sucker for airports – whether coming or going. Looking back, I don’t think it is any accident we have an anthology based in an airport. Glad this satisfied the need to live vicariously – too bad you weren’t here this morning – you could have chopped the wood for the fire!!!

    • Living it up a little too much – I haven’t drunk this much alcohol in a very long time. Already my body is protesting and I had Annie yesterday pointing out on the way to the airport – it really was just starting… I needed to toughen up. Ack!

      More later on today.

      At the moment the fire is dying a slow death (not keen on these tiny tiny fire places) but the morning sun is streaming in… delightful. I think it is time to search out a cup of tea…

Leave a Reply

