Day One

It’s official. NaNo already sucks. The enthusiasm I had slowly drained away from midnight onwards. I’m wishing now I had penned the voices floating about in my head early this morning rather than downloading the 600+ emails and the 600+ holiday snaps, apparently ‘clearing the decks’ for today. But alas, it wasn’t to be.

While we were away in Malaysia, stories began to slowly surface. Characters I had forgotten in the craziness of Chinese Whisperings reacqainted themselves, new characters popping up to share their stories, but in all of it, no clear idea of what I wanted to write for NaNo. Just a few scattered short story ideas. Actually if I’m perfectly honest my head was EMPTY for the first time all year – and I liked it that way. All I carried around with me, growing, developing, honing… this idea November could be all about me and all about writing.

Perhaps that’s what pisses me off the most. How quickly that dream went to ground – in fact within half a day of NaNo beginning.

So yes, to date I’ve written nothing, but I do know what I think I want to write about. Or perhaps I’ve decided to write about the wrong thing. This is the terrible precursor to NaNo for me… the dilema of having TOO MANY ideas, rather than none at all. I have gone on record saying I will flesh out the story told in the Litchenberg Trust but now I’m not so sure.

It’s 4:01pm and I need to make some decisions… even if it’s a simple – am I game enough to drive the car to the supermarket to pick up something for dinner, given the alternator has crapped itself the night before we left for holidays and I have absolutely no idea how much charge is left in the battery.

The metaphor, honestly, is not lost on me.

3 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Aw no, Jodi–This is just the NaNoWriMo curse. There’s that great Stephen King quote, about the very hardest part of writing is just before you begin. I hope you can begin and find the story you want to write.

  2. Loving the new look of the blog. Nice and minimalist once again.

    I hope your second day was better. By the sounds of Twitter and FB, it sounds like it. I found Day One hard but perhaps not as hard as you. There’s something challenging about really turning off that inner-editor enough for NaNoing – it’s in another league.

  3. Thanks Ben – there are tweaks still to do – but now I’ve lost the need to procrastinate they’ll have to wait a bit (ie the middle column.. intend to put all the anthologies I’m published in there)

    I’m going to write a blog post now… for next year about how tough Day one is… and how if you get through Day one you are more than half way there.

Leave a Reply

