The Bear Came Out of Her Cave

Last weekend at the Lifeline Bookfest I picked up Patricia Telseco’s 365 Goddess, a book I’ve wanted for a long time. One of those moments when you have stopped looking and only remember when you see it lying on a trestle table full of books, that you had wanted it years ago (or is that just me?)

Yesterday afternoon I started having a read through it and even though it is geared, in part for the Northern Hemisphere, and I’m pretty much resigned myself to a spiritual belief which border on atheism more than anything else, I’m still intrigued by mythology, tradition and ritual.

Telesco assigns the 3rd February to the Swiss celebrations of Homstrom and to the Bear Goddess Artio, who emerges from her cave to announce the season and bring with her providence and abundance. The idea of a bear leaving a cave appealed to me. Yes, it is summer here (though for most of it and summer we’ve had cool, overcast skies and incessant rain) but for months I’ve been holed up at home, in my office. I also was enamoured with the idea of providence and abundance.

I decided it was time to get out today. Today was the day to start writing again.

So this blog post comes to you from my favourite café, Cirque, in new farm.

It is a fitting way to make writing a priority (today at least) and to attempt to feel alive and brilliant, after weeks of stress, worry and outright terror and grief. As business picks up at eMergent, like a super-charged nitro funny-car plastered in book pages, I need to pay attention to make space for writing.

Every second Friday, regardless of what else is happening, you’ll find me here, in one of the corners, sipping a herbal tea, wishing for the end of my sugar fast so I can eat the famous French toast served; earphones corked, staring down the blank page and chasing characters across the narrative landscape.

2 thoughts on “The Bear Came Out of Her Cave

  1. “…to a spiritual belief which border on atheism more than anything else, I’m still intrigued by mythology, tradition and ritual.”

    You’ve described my beliefs exactly! I’m fascinated by the history of spiritual beliefs and the affect they have on humanity as coping mechanisms. The bear emerging from the cave is a powerful metaphor that probably writers in particular can relate to.

    It’s good to hear that you’re carving some time out for yourself amidst all the chaos.

Leave a Reply

