In Appreciation of Dr Seuss

And will you succeed?
Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾ percent guaranteed.)
Kid, you’ll move mountains!
…So…be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray or Mordecai Ale Van Allen O’Shea, you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!

I’ll let you in on a little secret – actually two! The love of my life shares a birthday with one of the greatest children’s authors of all time. Happy birthday Dave and happy birthday Dr Seuss (who would have been 107 today!)

So what’s the second little secret?

Only in adulthood have I truly come to appreciate Dr Seuss. You’d think it would be the reverse. For Mr D’s first birthday Annie and family gifted him his first Dr Seuss book with a message along the lines of, “If we have to do it – you have to do it too!” And as much as my tongue has been tied in knots, and I’ve discovered my breath control sucks, and as much as I would probably happily never read Hop On Pop again (or have it read to me)… there is something weird and enchanting about Seuss’ work.

As a child, I didn’t read Dr Seuss. I had a passing idea about the Cat in the Hat and If I had Duck Feet… and my favourite book for many years was The Diggiest Dog (published under Seuss’ imprint) I really wasn’t that into the books Seuss (or perhaps my parents weren’t really that into them?)

When my partner and I moved in together – one of the first things we did was build acommunal book case from long lengths of raw timber and concrete blocks. That’s where I first found and read, Oh, the Places You Will Go. The book so enthralled and lifted me up, I turned a blind eye to the inscription in the front of it from Dave’s ex-girlfriend (and still do!)

Since then – I’ve sought it out when things aren’t going too well. It’s always one of a handful of books I choose when it is my turn to pick a bedtime story, so much so Mr D (now almost 7) will choose it for me to read, knowing how much I love it. And believe me it has some stiff competition from several Lola and Charlie books.

I believe Oh, the Places You Will Go is the best motivational book on the market. As such it has been a standard gift to so many special people in my life – I’ve lost count! I dont believe it’s the best motivational book on the market  because of the uplifting ending, or the magical rhyming way the narratives rolls off your tongue when read, but simply because it is honest. It says sometimes life is going to suck. Sometimes you will be alone. Sometimes you won’t be a winner. Sometimes you’ll be stuck waiting. Sometimes you will be scared. But there are always choices to move on. Always good times just a little further down the way.

Thank you to Dr Seuss, for a legacy which brightens lives generation after generation.

What is your favourite Dr Seuss book and why?

Leave a Reply

