Month of Poetry: Because I Am Not Used to Remembering

photo 2Yesterday I shared, ‘Holding the Philistine‘ the mash-up of Robinson Crusoe/David and Goliath. Today’s poem is born from the reverse halves of the original texts.

It shows the flip-side can be both literal and metaphorical!


Because I Am Not Used to Remembering

Remembering my first design,
the monster put them
in the pouch of his hand.
Reaching into his great mind,
he chose to stand.

You come against thinking.
I come against you.
Cursed by waste.

Armies of tigers, lions and leopards
fell down on the winds.
Howling and roaring
the birds and wild animals
plundered where he pointed.

Abandon the sea, trade flesh.
Eat me no more.
Kill, because I am.

One thought on “Month of Poetry: Because I Am Not Used to Remembering

  1. Pingback: Experiment: A Perfect View | 1000 Pieces of Blue Sky

Leave a Reply

